Tag Archives: Young Adult

Can Love Conquer All?

cadl-teen
Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.

I have found a new favorite teen author: David Levithan. Ok, I knew about him already since he co-authored Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green and Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares and Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist with Rachel Cohn, BUT, Every Day blew me away.

The main character who is simply referred to as “A,” has no innate race and no innate religion. “A” has grown up without friends and without family. Every day “A” wakes up in a different body — male or female, any ethnicity, any socio-economic status, any size, but always 16-years-old and after inhabiting Justin’s body, always in love with Rhiannon.

Read it if you love “love,” and if you have a box of Kleenex handy. Now gender presumptions are going to be examined and challenged in this book, so if you are uncomfortable with same sex relationships, this book may make you uncomfortable. But, if you’re up for the challenge of questioning whether love truly conquers all — everything, any circumstance — then check it out.

- Cassie V., Children’s Services Librarian at CADL Downtown Lansing

Our Favorite Teen Reads of 2012

cadl-teen
What a year it’s been for young adult books. From the first Hunger Games screening to the final Twilight movie — and let’s not forget all associated merchandise (including handmade jewelry on Etsy) — it seems young adult fiction is on everyone’s radar these days. Not every great young adult title is optioned for a blockbuster movie, but that doesn’t make them less worthy of your attention.

Here are some of our favorite reads for 2012:Son

  • Son by Lois Lowry – Hands down my favorite book of the year. This is the final installment in The Giverquartet. It’s also great in audio.
  • Crewel by Gennifer Albin – A suspenseful tale about a society in which spinsters weave the fate Crewelof the citizens. Fans of Veronica Roth and Lauren Oliver, will love this.
  • Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – This epic fantasy set in a world first introduced in Graceling and Firebrings together the characters and plots from these novels.
  • Reached by Allie Condie – This is the exciting conclusion of the Matched trilogy. Find out what happens to theMissPeregrinesHomeForPeculiarChildren Society and what the future hold for Cassia, Ky and Xander.
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Ribbs – After a family tragedy, Jacob feels compelled to explore an abandoned orphanage on an island off the coast of Wales, discovering disturbing facts about the children who were kept there.
  • Every Day by David Levithan- Every morningEveryDay, A wakes in a different person’s body, in a different person’s life, learning over the years to never get too attached, until his wakes up in the body of Justin and falls in love with Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon.
  • Jepp, Who Defied the Stars by Katherine Marsh – Jepp, a teenage dwarf living in 16th century Europe, Seraphinaleaves home to seek his destiny.
  • Seraphina by Rachel Harman – In a world where dragons and humans coexist in an uneasy truce, Seraphina grapples with her own identity amid magical secrets and royal scandals.

- Lynn H., Youth Specialist Librarian & Cassie V., Children’s Services Librarian

Teen Screens: YA Books to Movies


It seems like the box office this summer has been swamped with hit movies which all made their debut between the covers of some amazing books.  This isn’t a new trend, and it’s definitely not limited to adult fiction novels. For example, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 shattered box office records.  Here are a few of my other favorite page-to-screen conversions, teen style.  And don’t forget to place a hold on either the book or movie; all of them are available in our collection here at CADL!

Whip It by Shauna Cross and the film version, Whip It  directed by Drew Barrymore: Desperate to escape her mother’s beauty queen dreams for her, Bliss heads to Austin to find her place in the roller derby scene.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne and the film version, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas directed by Mark Herman: Bruno, after moving with his family to Auschwitz, alleviates his boredom by befriending a boy in striped pajamas who lives behind a barbed-wire fence.

Red Riding Hood by Sarah Blakely-Cartwright and the film version, Red Riding Hood  directed by Catherine Hardwicke: Valerie must choose between love and security, while the wolf that hunts her village draws ever nearer.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling and the film version, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone  directed by Chris Columbus: It’s hard to choose a favorite Harry Potter, so start here, and continue on with the entire series.

Beastly by Alex Flinn and the film version, Beastly directed by Susan Cartsonis: Kyle must learn the true meaning of beauty, lest the spell cast upon him transform him into a beastly form in exile from society forever.

- Liz V.; Youth Services Librarian @ CADL Holt-Delhi

Crafty Teens

This is the time of year when many teens spend long, lazy days indoors, avoiding the crazy heat.  If you’re sick of video games and trolling your social media sites, don’t despair.  Instead, take up a hobby!

The library has tons of great books for teens about all sorts of hobbies.  Whether you’re a beginner, or know your craft, check out these great books for inspiration and instruction:

Steampunkery: Polymer Clay and Mixed Media Projects by Christi Friesen

The Crafty Diva’s Lifestyle Makeover by Kathy Cano-Murillo

Alternacrafts by Jessica Vitkus

Jeaneology: Crafty Ways to Reinvent Your Old Blues by Nancy Flynn

Teen Knitting Club: Chill Out and Knit  by Jennifer Wenger

Classics Retold: YA versions of old favorites

cadl-teen

Classic stories are classic for a reason.  They tend to tell a tale which transcends a specific time or place, usually one which contains indisputable truths about society or human nature.  The best of these stories leave themselves wide open for adaptation.  Lately, many centuries-old storylines have been given modern updates.  To see how your favorite classic translates in today’s world, check out one of these fantastic teen novels.

Jane by April Lindner: Bronte’s Jane Eyre is retold with Jane Moore as the nanny to the great rock star Nico Rathburn.

Confessions of a Triple Shot Betty by Jody Gehrman: Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing is set in the Sonoma valley, starring three girls who work as baristas at a drive through coffee stand.

Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman: Austen’s Pride and Prejudice gets updated in this delightful tale of Julia and her ever enthusiastic best friend Ashleigh, both of whom have a crush on the quiet and elusive Parr.

Little Brother by Cory Doctrow: Orwell’s 1984 comes to life in this near-future dystopia where the Department of Homeland Security runs amok, forcing Marcus and his gang of teen renegades to take action.

Undercover by Beth Kephart: Cyrano de Bergerac play a central role in this tale of poetry, secret love, and discovering oneself.

Enjoy these great re-tellings of classic stories, and for more teen book reviews and recommendations, make sure to check out CADL’s Books, Movies and More page.

-Liz V., Youth Services Librarian

Who Would You Be?

Other than Bella, Edward, and Jacob, if you could be a character in a novel, who would you be?

A good choice would be Jacky Faber; ship’s girl, pirate, spy, and mermaid. In a series of books by L.A. Meyer, Jacky is a teen girl who has done a little bit of everything. After growing up as an orphan on the streets of London, Jacky’s misadventures eventually end her up working for the British government as an unwilling spy.

In her latest adventure, Rapture of the Deep, Jacky’s up to her usual trouble. After being recaptured by Britain’s spy network, they set her to work off the Key West shore searching for sunken treasure. The problem? It’s 1802 and she has to dive over a hundred feet into the Atlantic Ocean wearing a canvas bathing suit while using a large diving bell. As if that wasn’t hard enough, she runs afoul of a Spanish lieutenant in waters controlled by the Armada AND runs into some old pirate friends who want their own share of the loot.

Other titles in the Bloody Jack series:

Check out Bloody Jack in our catalog.

Check out Curse of the Blue Tattoo in our catalog.

Check out Under the Jolly Roger in our catalog.

Check out In the Belly of the Bloodhound in our catalog.

Check out Mississippi Jack in our catalog.

Check out My Bonny Light Horseman in our catalog.

Check out Rapture of the Deep in our catalog.

-Abby B.,  Library Assistant @ South Lansing Library