Bookster: The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

Tbookster_logohe Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba and Bryan Mealer is the featured Bookster title for March. I’m Eric Stanton, a librarian at CADL Okemos and your host for Bookster this month.

I was initially drawn to this title because my personal interest in renewable energy my hope that its use will grow in this country. I am especially interested in sustainability and green living.  Some in my discussion group were apprehensive about selecting this title. However, I had heard so many good things about this book that  I encouraged our book group members to give it a shot. I hope you will too.

TheBoyWhoHarnessedTheWind_bookI listened to the audiobook in early February and to my surprise it surpassed my expectations — this is a wonderful book. The subtitle is Creating Currents of Electricity & Hope, and it definitely generates hope. It is not just about another problem in a developing nation, it transcends cultural differences. I believe it’s an inspirational read for anyone picking it up, especially young people. The main theme express the idea that if you have good intentions, work hard and remain steadfast in your efforts, you can become successful regardless of the obstacles in your life.

Eric headshot_cropped- Eric Stanton, Librarian at CADL Okemos

If our online discussion of The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind interests you and you’d like to share more in person, please join us at 12 p.m., April 4 for a lively discussion at CADL Okemos.

6 responses to “Bookster: The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

  1. I loved how William learned how to build a windmill from two old books in the library, even though his family couldn’t afford to send him to school. His brain never stopped working.

    • Thanks for your comment. This is definitely a pro-library book. It shows the importance and value of libraries in society. Libraries and librarians worldwide are advocates for continuing education and life-long learning. When William was depressed because he couldn’t afford to attend school, he found solace in spending time at the library. Most importantly, in addition to finding the information that he wanted, he felt welcomed by the librarian. Overall, libraries as institutions pride themselves on being open and welcoming to all.

  2. I thought William’s description in the first part of the book of how he made it through the Malawi famine of 2002 was very interesting. His tale of the famine was down to earth and filled with interesting details but still horrifying in that it seemed preventable.

    • I agree. His account of making it through the famine was gut-wrenching. I think it is very difficult for us to understand the experience of starvation. Even people who live in poverty in the United States have access to food banks, soup kitchens and other food assistance. The details that he provides gives readers a glimpse of the agony and deprivation that his fellow countrymen endured.

      The most difficult part for me to read was when he was forced to make the decision to euthanize his beloved dog because the animal was suffering so much. However, this is an important part of the book, because it allows readers to realize the degree to which his story truly is a tale of the triumph over hopelessness.

  3. This topic is a lot too complicated for just 1 post, seriously, I will need a lot more if I am going to fully grasp this.

    This article was excellent, but I think there was a whole lot that
    was missed. Anyone else concur? I am not whining, I simply want more, lol!

Leave a Reply

