The Lure of a Good Book

Flickr user: Daniel Y

Recently a member of my CADL book group stopped by the library and commented on the book we were going to discuss in a few days.  We all know how hectic the holiday season is due to shopping, wrapping etc. I had only read a few pages and the discussion was SOON!

When I went home I scraped together time and reluctantly opened the book as one does when a book report is due. The reluctance quickly disappeared as the book grabbed me and pulled me in. Before I knew it, I had finished it. I love it when a book does that!

The book I was reading was Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks.  If you haven’t read anything by Brooks give her a try. As my colleague Sarah says, she has a wonderful way with period language in historical fiction. Caleb’s Crossing is about the first Native American to graduate from Harvard in 1665.

To find out about more good reading check out our Research Tools page: Reading and Books. I use NoveList Plus and Books & Authors to find read-alikes of books I like. You will also find reviews, discussion questions and much more.

If you would like to discuss books with others, take a look at our Book Discussion groups.

- Anne R., CADL Reference Librarian

Leave a Reply

